Eu Andean Free Trade Agreement

After fulfilling all the internal requirements of its legal system, Colombia can continue to implement the trade agreement between Colombia and Peru, on the one hand, and the European Union on the other. To this end, the Colombian government adopted Decree No. 2247 of 5 November 2014, Colombia regulates Colombia`s market access commitments under the trade agreement between the European Union and its Member States, on the one hand, and Colombia and Peru, on the other, signed on 26 June 2012 in the city of Brussels in response to the 2013 Act of 1669. and adopts other provisions.“ In May 2002, a new agreement on political dialogue and cooperation between the European Union (EU) and the Andean Community was launched at the EU-LAC summit in Madrid. This agreement, signed in Rome in December 2003, will replace, after its ratification, the 1996 Rome Declaration and the 1993 Framework Cooperation Agreement. At the 2005 EU Ministerial Meeting, EU Andean Community Ministers announced that the 2003 agreement had been signed by the Foreign Affairs Council of the Andean Community on 11 July 2004 by Decision 595 of the Andean Community. At the EU-Andean High-Level Meeting in July 2006, both sides agreed that the Agreement on Political Dialogue and Cooperation should be ratified quickly and that a future Association Agreement with political, cooperation and trade pillars should be comprehensive. The latest information is available at: The EU trade agreement with the Andean countries in early 2013 was decided by Ecuador to formally resume trade negotiations with the European Union. After four rounds of negotiations, the parties concluded negotiations on 17 July 2014 that enabled Ecuador to accede to the multi-party trade agreement between Colombia and Peru and Peru. On 23 September 2014, Ecuador and the European Union published the text of their trade agreement. On 12 December 2014, they launched the document between the two countries. Ecuador joined the EU-Colombia-Peru trade agreement on 11 November 2016. On 4 June 2013, the trade agreement was submitted for approval to the Colombian President.

On 26 July 2013, the European Commission announced that the EU-Colombia trade agreement will enter into force on 1 August. In this context, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru met with the EU at the end of February 2009 in Brussels to advance negotiations for a trade agreement. The first round of negotiations took place on 13 February 2009 in Bogota, Colombia. The second round of negotiations took place from 23 to 27 March 2009 in Lima, Peru. The third round took place from 22 to 25 April 2009 in Quito, Ecuador. The fourth round of negotiations ended on 19 June 2009. The fifth round of negotiations took place from 20 to 24 July 2009 in Lima, Peru. The sixth round of negotiations took place in Brussels on 21 and 25 September 2009. A seventh round of negotiations on a free trade agreement between the EU and Colombia and Peru was concluded on 20 November 2009. On 18 and 22 January 2010, the eighth round of negotiations took place in Bogota, Colombia.